• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Caffeine Induced Depression

keenymeeny

Greenlighter
Hello, here's the situation:

I've been using caffeine pills for approximately 8 years straight - approximately 600mg to 800mg a day (200mg every 4 hours).

As of three days ago I've quit cold turkey - not doing as bad as I thought - but still feeling mental lethargy - lack of concentration - bit zombie and depressed. Life is kinda blah/grey. Its taking a little more effort to write this post - so hope it makes sense.

Couple questions;
Whats the best way to heal the caffeine induced depression I'm now going through? Should I be focusing on strengthening /replenishing nor/dopamine signalling? Or should I be looking at something like St.John's Wort/serotonin? What kind of damage has this 8yr caffeine pill habit caused do you figure? In general terms.

What I have on hand: bupropion, selegiline, kira and perika st.john's wort, tyrosine, efas, and quite a bit more.

The second part of my question - seems like I've been self medicating for either adhd or depression or both. So here's the situation after I deal with this caffeine mess:

To treat adhd - whats the better more healthy option in your opinion(btwn these 2)- continue to take caffeine pills every four hours, along with support supps (b vits, cal, mag, zinc, efas, coq10 etc.) and take a break every once in a while - this would be about 600mg - 800mg of caffeine pills a day.... or.... take 10mg to 20mg of dexedrine spansules? What do you figure is easier on the heart, adrenals etc. risk vs benefit.

Which option would you consider healthier? I have a fairly active life - very athletic - and my job involves physical and mental activity. I use no other drugs outside of otc supps.